Outnumbered Vol. 1 thru 4 by Robert Schobernd

Outnumbered Volumes 1 thru 4, The Zombie Apocalypse Series

By: Robert Schobernd
Pages: 216
Publisher: Smashwords Edition
Published on: August 29th 2015
Outnumbered Vol. 1 thru 4 by Robert Schobernd

I don't know where to begin because I don't know for sure where the zombies began. Some say they started with the black magic of witch doctors in Africa. Others insist it had been Haitian bokor sorcerers and their curses. Still others claim a virus that occurred naturally started it all. Before world wide communications and then USA internal communications and media shut down, there were rumors the virus had been developed by Muslim religious fanatics. Maybe that's why those western Asian countries were affected first and their populations annihilated first. Then the religious zealots here professed the very God they worshiped unleashed the zombie on all of us because of our greed and corruption. I'm not a religious person, never have been, but I find it hard to believe any God revered by large numbers of followers would wipe out an entire planet for the sins and atrocities of a few. But after what I've seen and been through, what do I know?
This is our story.

I received this book for free from Author Gifted in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Andi's Review


Tom Jacobs after winning the lottery gathers friends up and as they watch the zombie apocalypse spread through Europe, they begin to build a compound that can withstand an onslaught of the undead, near dead that are starting to spread across The United States.  All is relatively okay until Emma, Tom’s wife starts to run towards the lake by herself.  When the zombies start to approach her, she begins to fire the two weapons she has, only to have them malfunction.  Tom watches in horror has his wife is killed.  Thankfully as the leader of the compound along with a council, another woman steps up to help him out of his grief.  Although it takes some times, Tom realizes that while she may not be Ms. Right, she is Ms. Right now.  That is until Kira arrives.


The four volumes each have their own story, their own troubles, and their own conclusions.  From roving packs of mutated zombies who seem to have the ability to think, even act as a group, to wandering bands of individuals who are very much alive, and very dangerous to Tom’s group.  Tom’s group are individuals who want to live, they want to prosper as much as they can, and they want to be left alone.  However, when you have a massive compound in the middle of the United States it is only a matter of time before those seeking refuge come calling, and those seeking what you have come to tear it all down.  It is how Tom and his friends and associates meet both challenges head on that show what kind of people they truly are.


This is not a love story, this is a book about survival and how bad things happen to ordinary people, even ordinary good people.  Things happen that are beyond anyone’s control, and it is up to ordinary people to become extraordinary in the face of such adversity.  The trouble with adversity is you never when it may rear its ugly head.


This is a good series of small stories.  I really like the pace and how it is one thing after another.  The writing is strong, the pace is strong and pushing.  It will keep you on the edge of your seat and on your toes the entire time.  Seriously my nerves were shot by the end of the fourth book.  There are more after the fourth one, but I don’t know if my nerves could stand it.  Who am I joking?  Of course I am going to read it.  Just not until my nerves   have settled down from reading the first four, most likely in record time.  Overall a solid book.  There are some similarities to other zombie books that I have read, which changed it from 5 fangs to 4.5 fangs.





Barnes & Noble

About Robert Schobernd

Hi, my name is Bob Schobernd. I publish my writing as Robert Schobernd.
I primarily write in the crime category. My crime stories started with a trilogy character study detailing an assassin's rise and fall. The trilogy title is Irrevocable Change and the individual books are: Reverse Metamorphosis, The Assassin Evolves, and The Devil's Homecoming. These stories are about coarse criminals and focus on the life experiences of an assassin and how his actions affect his family and friends.
The first series I've written is the Carter A. Johnson novels. They depict a vigilante who invokes double jeopardy on criminals he determines to be guilty. The first is, The Blonde Heiress, a novella length introduction to the series. The second novel is The Dogtrot Murder. The story follows the prison internment of the wife convicted of killing her husband and Carter's efforts to free her. A third story in the series is Cape Abigail, and its setting is the coast of Maine. Here Carter is joined by Kate Menke, the prisoner in The Dogtrot Murder.
As a change of genre, I published a short (15,000 words), very dark thriller/horror story, titled 59 Hours. I'll give you a hint; some people bloom, wilt and die in fifty nine hours.
In the near future I plan to continue with additional crime stories and also pursue other stories in the thriller/horror genre.

Thank you, I hope you enjoy my stories,

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.